Federally Administered Tribal Areas

The Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA; Pashto: وسطي قبایلي سیمې، منځنۍ پښتونخوا‎;  are a semi-autonomous tribal region in northwestern Pakistan, bordering Pakistan's provinces of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan to the east and south, and Afghanistan's provinces of Kunar, Nangarhar, Paktia, Khost and Paktika to the west and north. The Federally Administered Tribal Areas comprise seven tribal agencies (districts) and six frontier regions, and are directly governed by Pakistan's federal government through a special set of laws called the Frontier Crimes Regulations (FCR).

The territory is almost exclusively inhabited by the Pashtuns, who also live in the neighboring Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and eastern Afghanistan and are Muslim by faith. Afghanistan claims the territory as its own. Afghanistan was the only country to vote against Pakistan’s accession to the United Nations after Pakistan's independence because of Kabul’s claim on the Pashtun territories located on Pakistan's side of the Durand Line. Main towns of the territory are Parachinar, Miranshah, Razmak, Kaniguram, Wana, Kalaya, Landi Kotal, Ghalanai and Khaar.

Get a better hosting deal with a hostgator coupon or play poker on party poker
Copyright 2011 Federally Administered Tribal Areas Of KP.
Joomla Templates by Wordpress themes free